“I Got Drunk & I Ate A Chicken…”

On a winning Valentine’s Day a couple of years ago, with no date scheduled and no dog to give all my undivided love and attention to, I decided to indulge in two of my favourite past-times: getting drunk and eating chicken. It was a whole barbecued chicken, with succulent herb stuffing and crispy charcoal on the wings. It was a whole bottle of gin, of the Bombay Sapphire variety, served with generous amounts of tonic in a tall and seemingly bottomless glass.
Depressingly, and I’m probably propelling myself towards a lifetime on the shelf by admitting this, it’s the only memorable February 14 I’ve ever had… Oh, romance! But I do love gin. And I really love chicken.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, I also love Tennessee’s Those Darlins and especially this song:

Why am I telling you this? Those Darlins stopped by Sydney earlier this month and blew my tiny mind. With three girls out front and a boy on the drums for good measure, the band are the perfect combination of garage rock, trailer park harmonies and finger lickin’ good times. I meant to blog about it at the time but their Sydney shows coincided not only with a hectic schedule of festive boozing but also with my birthday. So basically what I’m saying, is that from mid-December until now I’ve been too intoxicated to blog about how good they were and how you were a damn fool if you missed the gig. I have sobered up now, sigh, and am happy to let you know that the band have plans to release their sophomore album in 2011. Woo-hoo! As a preview to the record, they have released a 7 inch of their newest song, ‘Nightjogger’. Feel like buying a belated Christmas gift? You can pick it up

1 Comment

Filed under NEW MUSIC, OPINION

One response to ““I Got Drunk & I Ate A Chicken…”

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Is Over | in the pines

Leave a Reply

