I’ve Loved Dolly Just As Long As You Have: Unpacking The Pines, June 7

Just when I thought I’d blogged my last about Dolly Parton, everyone’s favourite Tennessee mountain blonde decided she would do the almost unimaginable and tour Australia for the first time in 30 years. And so, just quietly, tenderly and in the most dignified way possible… I’VE BEEN GOING CRAZY WITH EXCITEMENT. Folks who’ve seen my strange collection of Dolly stuff will know that I am a huge fan. I’ve got the Playboy issue with her on the cover, I’ve got the Dolly doll, I’ve got pictures of her in frames on my wall and I have even decided to revoke my long-term philosophy on marriage (not really my thing/ don’t believe in it/might be getting too old to go to my grave married as many times as Liz Taylor so what’s the fucking point) for the suitor who proposes with/ already owns one of these:

I know, I know, my claims to sanity are getting more and more dubious… With the upcoming tour weighing heavily on my mind, there was never any doubt that tonight’s In The Pines would have a Dolly flavour. We heard: Dolly and Porter Wagoner’s I’ve Been Married Just As Long As You Have, Justin Townes Earle and Dawn Landes’ excellent cover of Do I Ever Cross Your Mind? and Allison Moorer’s re-working of Light Of A Clear Blue Morning which was released back in 2003 on the Parton tribute record Just Because I’m A Woman.

Dolly is playing shows across Australia in November and tickets will be available through the good people at Chugg Entertainment on June 20.

I promise not to play anymore Parton for a while now… Maybe… Probably… Perhaps… No really, the point of the program is to play brand new tunes of the Americana/folk/alt-country persuasion and if you tuned in tonight then you will know that against all odds I did manage that brief. Here are some highlights.

Thurston Moore, ‘Benediction’

Sonic Youth frontman goes acoustic on his Beck produced solo record Demolished Thoughts.

Jessica Lea Mayfield, ‘I’ll Be The One That You Want Someday’

I’ve already spun the single from JLM’s second LP Tell Me twice this year so tonight we had an album track.

If you’re not over ‘Our Hearts Are Wrong’ (and why would you be, it’s perfect) here’s a link to the Letterman performance from a few months back.

Dawes, ‘If I Wanted Someone’

California’s Dawes released their much-anticipated sophomore album Nothing Is Wrong today. I played the album version of ‘If I Wanted Someone’, which is golden and glorious can be downloaded here. I must have listened to it forty times today. When I finally stopped, I revisited it acoustic.

1 Comment

Filed under FROM THE VAULT, NEW MUSIC

One response to “I’ve Loved Dolly Just As Long As You Have: Unpacking The Pines, June 7

  1. Townes Van Cat

    On the strength of this blog entry I’m surprised that in amongst your April 30th suggestions of “Conway Kitty, Kitty Wells, Catsy Cline, Johnny Cat, June Carter-Cat and personal favourite, Tabby Wynette”, that you didn’t have ‘Moggy Parton’.

Leave a Reply

